Friendship Societies with foreign countries

Compressed file

One of the most important foreign policy objectives of the Russian Federation consists in the development of cultural and humanitarian cooperation with the peoples of foreign countries. For decades, friendship societies with foreign countries have played a significant role in this area, strengthening Russia's international prestige.

In our country, the movement for friendship and cooperation with the peoples of foreign countries originated in 1925, by the creation of the All-Union Society for Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries. Outstanding state and public figures, world-famous representatives of the country's science and culture stood at its source: V. Mayakovski, S. Prokofiev, M. Sholokhov, D. Shostakovich, S. Eisenstein, I. Ehrenburg, S. Vavilov.

The Union of Soviet Friendship Societies (USFS), uniting friendship societies with foreign countries, acquired a universal significance. And despite the fact that in some countries with authorities hostile to us the USFS was attributed to dangerous “subversive organizations” during the “cold war”, the general public was actively cooperating with it. And this cooperation continued even during the most unfavorable periods of interstate relations.

Unfortunately, after the collapse of the Soviet Union, friendship societies found themselves in a difficult situation. Many societies were reorganized, which allowed them to survive in that difficult time. In 2004, Russian societies lost the Friendship House at Vozdvizhenka, 16, where they had been working and holding most of the activities. More and more people started to leave the friendship societies, including prominent public figures having influence on international processes. Many societies faced the need to close down their activities. However, part of the potential was retained thanks to the enthusiasm, unselfishness and dedication of the outstanding people who have been supporting the societies in these difficult conditions.

Today prominent figures of science, art and culture, public and religious figures take part in the work of friendship societies. Such people as writer Yuri Polyakov, hockey player Vladislav Tretyak, TV presenter Nikolai Drozdov, space pilots Alexei Leonov, Alexander Kaleri, Victor Gorbatko, Victor Savinykh, Peter Klimuk and many others are members of friendship societies.

Friendship Societies have accumulated extensive experience in conducting events aimed at familiarization with the history, culture and science of Russia and foreign countries, such as:

- Conferences, round tables, forums

- Evenings of friendship with the peoples of foreign countries

- Evenings dedicated to anniversaries and significant dates

- Evenings of foreign science, technology, literature and art

- Meetings of scientists and cultural figures of foreign countries and the Russian Federation

- Lectures, reports and conversations of Russian and foreign scientists and culture workers

- Exhibitions, etc.

A special role in the activities of friendship societies is attached to the Russian Association for International Cooperation, a public organization established in 1992, in accordance with the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation. The Association became the legal successor of the Union of Soviet Friendship Societies (USFS). Today it unites more than 90 friendship societies and other public international organizations.

The long-term positive experience of the societies of friendship with the peoples of foreign countries indicates their efficiency as a tool of public diplomacy influencing the minds and consciousness of the foreign public. They help promote positive perception of Russia in the world and represent an important channel for developing international cooperation.

Общества дружбы с зарубежными странами

Compressed rs rams logo

Одной из важнейших внешнеполитических задач, стоящих перед Российской Федерацией, является развитие культурно-гуманитарного сотрудничества с народами зарубежных стран.  Существенную роль на этом направлении на протяжении десятилетий играют общества дружбы с зарубежными странами, ведущие активную деятельность по укреплению международного авторитета России.

В нашей стране начало движению за дружбу и сотрудничество с народами зарубежных стран было положено в 1925 году созданием Всесоюзного общества культурной связи с заграницей (ВОКС). У его истоков стояли выдающиеся государственные и общественные деятели, известные во всем мире представители науки и культуры страны: В.В.Маяковский, С.С. Прокофьев, М.А. Шолохов, Д.Д. Шостакович, С.М. Эйзенштейн, И.Г. Эренбург, С.И. Вавилов.

ВОКС, а затем и Союз советских обществ дружбы (ССОД), объединявшие общества дружбы с зарубежными странами, приобрели всемирное звучание и значение. И даже в тех странах, где в годы «холодной войны»  враждебно настроенные к нам  власти относили ССОД к опасным «подрывным организациям», широкие круги общественности активно с ним сотрудничали. И это сотрудничество продолжалось даже в самые неблагоприятные моменты межгосударственных отношений.

К сожалению, с распадом Советского Союза, общества дружбы оказались в сложном положении. Во многих обществах была проведена реорганизация, что позволило им выжить в то трудное время.  В 2004 году российские общества лишились Дома дружбы на Воздвиженке, 16, где они работали и проводили большинство мероприятий.  Из обществ дружбы постепенно стали уходить люди, в том числе и те видные общественные деятели, которые могли оказать влияние на международные процессы. Многие общества оказались перед необходимостью сворачивать свою деятельность. Однако часть потенциала удалось сохранить благодаря энтузиазму, бескорыстию и самоотдаче тех выдающихся людей, которые поддерживали и поддерживают работу обществ в этих непростых условях.

Сегодня в работе обществ дружбы принимают участие видные деятели науки, искусства и культуры, общественные и религиозные деятели. Членами обществ дружбы являются писатель Юрий Поляков, хоккеист Владислав Третьяк, телеведущий Николай Дроздов, летчики-космонавты Алексей Леонов, Александр Калери, Виктор Горбатко, Виктор Савиных, Петр Климук и многие другие.

Обществами дружбы накоплен обширный опыт по проведению мероприятий, направленных на ознакомление с историей, культурой, наукой России и зарубежных стран, таких как:

- конференции, круглые столы, форумы

- вечера дружбы с народами зарубежных стран

- вечера, посвященные юбилейным и знаменательным датам

- вечера зарубежной науки, техники, литературы и искусства

- встречи деятелей науки и культуры зарубежных стран и Российской Федерации

- лекции, доклады и беседы российских и зарубежных деятелей науки и культуры

- выставки и пр.

Особую роль в деятельности обществ дружбы играет Российская ассоциация международного сотрудничества (РАМС) – общественная организация, созданная в 1992 г. в соответствии с Указом Президента Российской Федерации и ставшая правопреемницей Союза Советских обществ дружбы (ССОД). Сегодня РАМС объединяет более 90 обществ дружбы и других общественных международных организаций.

Многолетний положительный опыт работы обществ дружбы с народами зарубежных стран свидетельствует о том, что они представляют собой действенный инструмент народной  дипломатии, влияющий на умы и сознание зарубежной общественности с точки зрения позитивного восприятия России в мире, являются важным каналом реализации задачи развития международного сотрудничества.